EMBA Programs in China

An EMBA in China, on the CEIBS pages we could read, is a part-time master’s for people who already manage, not a full-time MBA and not a two-day executive course. The English introduction to the Chinese-language EMBA prints the experience bar and the monthly shape, and it does not print a tuition.

Information checked 29 October 2026 (Asia/Shanghai).

No EMBA tuition was on the English pages we opened, so none is invented. The Global EMBA page says part-time, while the programmes FAQ intro groups Global EMBA with full-time English programmes. Admission rounds on the Global EMBA application page have month-days and no year. On 29 October 2026 those month-days had passed if they belonged to 2026. DragonTrail has no EMBA class.

At a Glance

CredentialMaster’s degree, on both the Chinese EMBA introduction and the programme table’s EMBA row. It is not the full-time MBA, and it is not an open-enrolment certificate.
Host and facultyChinese EMBA: 上海, 北京, and 深圳. Global EMBA: Shanghai plus overseas modules; the FAQ names Shanghai, Zurich, Singapore, and Accra among more than 20 destinations. Faculty are CEIBS’s. We name none we did not read.
Work experienceBoth the Chinese EMBA page and the Global EMBA page ask for an undergraduate degree, eight years of work, and five years in managerial posts. The full-time MBA’s two-year bar does not apply here.
LanguageChinese EMBA: Mandarin, or English with interpretation. Global EMBA application page: a strong command of written and spoken English. The FAQ also describes electives at partner schools. Do not assume one language for every module.
CurriculumChinese EMBA: an opening module, 14 core courses, 8 to 11 electives, and one integrated group project. Global EMBA FAQ: fundamentals, strategy, China depth, global breadth, leadership, ESG, and a capstone, plus more than 45 elective options.
Company accessNot confirmed as visits. The Global EMBA page talks about classrooms and modules, not a named factory. The Chinese EMBA’s group project does not name a host. A manager’s own employer is not a site we can tour.
CertificateThe programme table says master’s degree for the EMBA rows we read. It does not spell the parchment line in English on the Chinese EMBA introduction. We do not invent the exact diploma wording.
ScheduleChinese EMBA: 24 months, four days a month, entry in May or October. Global EMBA: two years, part-time, annual intake in November, four days a month or eight days every two months. The FAQ says students can switch tracks after starting.
Employer papersGlobal EMBA asks for a committed organisation that lets you attend. Financial sponsorship is explicitly not obligatory. That sentence is CEIBS’s. It is not a template letter DragonTrail signs, and it is not statutory educational leave.

Two CEIBS EMBAs, and a Full-Time Sentence That Conflicts

CEIBS describes an EMBA taught in Chinese, which it says began in 1995 as the first EMBA on the Chinese mainland, and a Global EMBA with overseas modules. The Chinese programme’s English page sends readers onward for more detail and still gives a usable skeleton: part-time, two years, four days a month, May or October entry, campuses in Shanghai, Beijing, and Shenzhen. The Global EMBA overview is also two years and part-time, with a November intake and a choice of four days every month or eight days every two months. Those shapes are for people who keep a job.

The conflict sits in the FAQ’s opening line, which calls the MBA, the Global EMBA, and the Global MiM “three full-time English-language programmes.” The Global EMBA page itself says part-time. We print both and do not declare a winner. If you need evenings free, the word “full-time” in that intro is not a safe planning fact. The full-time MBA’s 16-month Shanghai contract, and its RMB 488,000 sticker, belong on the MBA page. They are not copied here as an EMBA price. No EMBA yuan or dollar figure appeared on the pages this route uses.

The Experience Bar Is the Point of the Degree

Both EMBA pages we read set the same floor: an undergraduate university degree or above, eight years of work, and five of those years in managerial positions. The Global EMBA application page adds a written and spoken English bar, and it says you may ask CEIBS to assess experience that does not look standard. It also asks for maturity and a career path that shows further leadership room. The Chinese EMBA page publishes a class sketch — average age 41, 97 percent top or senior management, 28 percent women — as its own portrait. We do not treat that sketch as the rule, and we do not treat it as a diversity quota.

A recent graduate looking at the Global MiM, which allows minimal work experience, is on the wrong page. So is someone with two years of work who fits the full-time MBA bar and not this one. The programme table’s management-level line for EMBA says senior management. Hotlines on that table are CEIBS’s (Shanghai, Beijing, Shenzhen), not DragonTrail’s. Alumni totals are also unstable across pages: the EMBA introduction says 35,000-plus CEIBS alumni and 15,000-plus EMBA graduates; the FAQ says over 34,000 alumni. We do not reconcile the headcount.

Monthly Days, Not a Campus Year

Four days a month is the Chinese EMBA’s published rhythm, over 24 months. Global EMBA participants choose that monthly block or an eight-day block every two months, and the FAQ says they can switch courses between tracks once the programme has started. Entry months differ: May or October for the Chinese EMBA, November for the Global EMBA. None of those sentences says which year’s May or November is open. On 29 October 2026, an October 2026 entry — if that was the cohort — would already be underway or past. We will not announce a seat.

Global EMBA admission rounds are printed as 15 August, 5 September, and 5 October, with interviews a few days later, and the year is absent. The written test named there is the Executive Assessment, with GMAT, GRE, or a CEIBS admissions test also accepted. Interviews are described as about 45 minutes, often with a professor and an alumnus, on the Shanghai campus or online. If those month-days were 2026, all three had passed before this review. If they were 2027, the page did not say so. Contact the school for the year. Do not ask DragonTrail to extend a round.

Cores, Electives, and Modules That Are Still School Property

The Chinese EMBA curriculum line is specific enough to plan time and not specific enough to plan a syllabus: opening module, 14 core courses, 8 to 11 electives, one integrated group project. The Global EMBA FAQ builds four streams — leadership, global breadth, China depth, and ESG — on top of business fundamentals, integration, and strategy. Core topics it names include economics, marketing, organisational behaviour, financial reporting, corporate finance, data analytics, managing AI, managerial accounting, and strategic management, plus a capstone. More than 45 elective modules are claimed. Elective cities are not a menu we can book for you.

The same FAQ says Global EMBA electives can sit at partner schools and names the National University of Singapore, UCLA Anderson, ESCP, and IESE among eight schools in ten countries. Those names are CEIBS’s partner list, not DragonTrail’s. Modules “in more than 20 destinations” and the examples Shanghai, Zurich, Singapore, and Accra describe the programme’s own travel, for admitted participants. They are not a China business immersion week, and they are not a manufacturing visit. Company access for an outside group remains unconfirmed. A group project without a named host is not a promise that your employer’s competitor will open a door.

What the Employer Must Allow, and What It Need Not Pay

The Global EMBA application page is unusually clear on money from the employer: sponsorship is not obligatory, but the organisation must let you attend class. That is a calendar commitment of four or eight days at a time, for two years, plus whatever travel the module map requires. A supportive letter that only says “we like learning” does not meet a four-day absence. What the letter must contain was not on the page. Ask CEIBS for the current wording. We do not draft it.

Statutory educational leave is a separate permission, granted by a body in the jurisdiction where the job sits. CEIBS does not, on these pages, say the EMBA is recognized as Bildungsurlaub or as any other country’s paid-leave product. Four days a month may also fail a rule that demands a continuous block of several days. Check that rule before you promise your works council a statutory day. A master’s parchment at the end is the degree. It is not automatically the certificate a leave statute asks for.

The Tuition Cell Stays Blank

Because the English EMBA introduction, the Global EMBA overview, and the application page we read did not state a tuition, this page does not borrow RMB 488,000 from the full-time MBA or RMB 198,000 from Tsinghua. A blank is more honest than a neighboring product’s sticker. Application fees, deposit rules, and what tuition covers are likewise unread for the EMBA. If a Chinese-language page states a fee, we did not use it here. Open that page yourself and keep the cohort year in the sentence.

The programme table does show that EMBA is a degree row with an eight-year experience floor, beside executive education, which has no degree requirement and variable length. Use that contrast when a provider calls a three-day course an EMBA. Rank lines on CEIBS pages, including Financial Times claims, are not adopted. The next step is the school’s admissions office for the year of the round, or a question to us that names the campus and the language. Neither button below enrolls you.

Sources

These pages were read on 29 October 2026 (Asia/Shanghai). Tuition, language rules, and application windows change, and several dates on them have already passed. A CUCAS card is CUCAS’s listing. Use the current page from the school, or from the body that recognizes educational leave, before you act.

FAQ

Is the CEIBS EMBA full-time or part-time?

The Chinese EMBA introduction and the Global EMBA overview both say part-time, over two years. The programmes FAQ intro nevertheless lists Global EMBA among three full-time English programmes. Both sentences were on the site on 29 October 2026. Plan from the programme page that describes the monthly calendar, and ask the school which sentence governs your cohort.

What work experience does the EMBA require?

The pages we read ask for eight years of work, including five in managerial positions, and an undergraduate degree or above. That is a different bar from the full-time MBA’s two years and from the Global MiM’s minimal-experience rule. A short open course may have no minimum at all. Do not mix the bars.

How often are classes?

The Chinese EMBA page says four days a month for 24 months, with entry in May or October. The Global EMBA page says four days every month or eight days every two months, with a November intake. The year of the next entry was not printed as an open seat. Sponsorship of the fee is not required; permission to be away is.

Why is there no tuition on this page?

The English EMBA pages we opened did not state one. Copying the full-time MBA’s RMB 488,000 would describe a different contract. If you need a number, use the current CEIBS page for the EMBA you mean and note the intake year. DragonTrail will not estimate it.

Are the August, September, and October rounds still open?

The Global EMBA application page lists 15 August, 5 September, and 5 October without a year. If those dates were 2026, they had passed by 29 October 2026. If they were meant for a later year, the page did not say so. We do not call the round open.

Which language will the classroom use?

The Chinese EMBA page says Mandarin, or English with interpretation. The Global EMBA application page asks for strong written and spoken English. Electives at partner schools may follow that school’s language. A single “English EMBA” label hides those differences.

Does the EMBA include company visits?

Not as a confirmed public roster. The curriculum mentions an integrated group project and, on the Global EMBA side, international modules. No host company is named for an outside visitor. Your own employer allowing you to attend class is not the same as another firm opening its floor.

Can my employer’s educational-leave rules use this degree automatically?

No. Nothing we read says CEIBS has registered the EMBA with a German Land or any other recognizing body. The employer’s permission to miss four days is a company decision. Statutory paid leave depends on the law where the workplace sits, the course’s recognition, and the attendance proof that law requires.

Compare study routes, or tell us the credential, the teaching language, and whether an employer is sending you. Neither button admits you to a business school or books a company visit.